ISSMA Results 2010

Merrillville High School was represented by 44 choir students at the district ISSMA Solo and Ensemble competition at Crown Point High School on Saturday, January 30, 2010.  Overall, 24 soloists were awarded gold ratings for the performances, 10 students received silver and one bronze.  Seven ensembles also competed and MHS scored six gold and one silver rating.  The Holbrook ensemble (Shaunice Holbrook, Kayla Johnson, Tia Rucker, and Kiara Stephens-Brown) scored a near perfect 9.5 with the selection "Stopping By The Woods On a Snowy Evening," based upon a poem by Robert Frost.  Four soloists (Matthew Fayson, Melina Rivera, Tia Rucker and ShyOra Tolbert) missed a perfect score of 9 by only one point. 




Thirty-seven students total qualified for the state competition in Indianapolis February 20.  Soloists include Chardonnay Balkcom, Victoria Collins, Angelica Dix, Matthew Fayson, Malcolm Graham, Kayla Greene, Kayla Johnson, Laron Jones, Kandice Nicholson, Payton Parker, Melina Rivera, Tia Rucker, Stormie Schilling, Alyssa Shirk, Kiara Stephens-Brown, Claudia Strong, Kim Tapper, Mariah Trigg, Nicole Varela, Brechey White and Adrian Weaver.  Ensembles include the Velveteens, the Vocalteens and four other groups made up of various Choralteen members.